Summary of the TNI NELAP Board Meeting February 1, 2010

1. Roll call

The NELAP Board met at 12:30 PM CDT on Feb. 1, 2010. Aaren Alger chaired the meeting. Those members in attendance are listed in Attachment 1. In addition to those indicated, Susan Wyatt and Stephanie Drier from MN joined the call, along with David Caldwell of OK.

2. Minutes

Minutes from previous meetings were not available for review and approval.

Carol Batterton reported that the roll call vote regarding the Illinois extension had been completed and the motion passed. Aaren will draft a letter to IL advising them of the Board's concern.

3. Update on Chicago meeting

Aaren Alger reported on the following activities of the Chicago meeting.

- EPA sent a letter to the TNI Board listing concerns about activities of the NELAP Board and the state ABs. the TNI board and NELAP board will be developing a response. Aaren has requested more detail on the issues in the letter.
- The issue of inconsistent accreditation for SW9-846 methods by ABs came up several times in Chicago. Aaren suggested that a subcommittee may be needed to look at the new database and see if a solution can be determined. There may be problems with the database if everyone is not doing SW 846 accreditation the same.
- It was reported at the Chicago meeting that the NELAP Board has created a backlog on approval of SIRs. There was one estimate that the NELAP Board was holding up about 50 SIRs. One idea to streamline the approval process was to set up a system for electronic approval. Another idea was to form a subcommittee of ABs to review the SIRs and approve.
- The dispute resolution process was presented for discussion. It was noted that the Policy Committee was developing a global complaint resolution process, but that it would not apply to NELAP or CSDB. The NELAP Board will need to coordinate with Policy to make sure the two processes are consistent.
- There was continued discussion in Chicago on the TNI re-organization (re-alignment). The TNI board will continue to fine tune this proposal.

4. Appointment of MN evaluation team

Carol Batterton reported that Brenda Bettencourt had offered for Jack Berges of Region 9 to serve on the MN evaluation team. Kristin Brown of UT volunteered to be the lead

evaluator. KS has indicated interest in serving as an observer for training purposes. With Board concurrence, Aaren appointed these individuals as the MN evaluation team.

A question was posed as to which standard would be used for the next round of evaluations. This question will need to be addressed. A new training will be needed by 2011 since nine renewals will due in 2011.

5. Other

Cathy Westerman will send out an email that will outline the VA timeline for granting accreditations.

5. Next meeting

The next meeting of the NELAP Board would normally be on Monday, Feb. 15, 2010, at 12:30 CST. However, this day is a holiday for most states and federal agencies. Aaren asked Carol to poll the members to see if there was objection to moving the meeting to Feb. 17, 2010, at the same time. Potential agenda items include:

Approval of minutes Update on renewals VA lab transition Dispute resolution policy SIRs SW 846 (standing item)

Attachment 1

STATE	Representative	PRESENT
CA	George Kulasingam T: (510) 620-3155 F: (510) 620-3165	Yes
	E: gkulasin@cdph.ca.gov	
	Alternate: Jane Jensen jjensen@cdph.ca.gov	
FL	Stephen Arms T: (904) 791-1502 F: (904) 791-1591 E: steve_arms@doh.state.fl.us	Yes

	Alternate: Carl Kircher carl kircher@doh.state.fl.us	
IL	Scott Siders T: (217) 785-5163 F: (217) 524-6169 E: scott.siders@illinois.gov	No
	Alternate: TBA	
KS	Dennis L. Dobson 785-291-3162 ddobson@kdhe.state.ks.us F: (785) 296-1638	Yes
	Alternate: Michelle Probasco mprobasco@kdheks.gov	
LA DEQ	Paul Bergeron T: 225-219-3247 F: 225-219-3310 E: Paul.Bergeron@la.gov	Yes
	Altérnate: Cindy Gagnon E: Cindy.Gagnon@la.gov	
LA DHH	Louis Wales T: (225) 342-8491 F: (225) 342-7494 E: <u>lwales@dhh.la.gov</u>	Yes
	Alternate: Ginger Hutto ghutto@dhh.la.gov	
NH	Bill Hall T: (603) 271-2998 F: (603) 271-5171 E: george.hall@des.nh.gov	Yes
	Alternate: TBD	
NJ	Joe Aiello T: (609) 633-3840 F: (609) 777-1774 joseph.aiello@dep.state.nj.us	Yes

	Alternate : TBD	
NY	Stephanie Ostrowski T: (518) 485-5570 F: (518) 485-5568	Yes
	Alternate: Dan Dickinson dmd15@health.state.ny.us	
OR	Brian Boling T: (503) 229-5823 F: (503) 229-6924 E: boling.brian@deq.state.or.us	
	Alternate: Raeann Haynes haynes.raeann@deq.state.or.us	Yes
PA	Aaren Alger T: (717) 346-8212 F: (717) 346-8590 E: aaalger@state.pa.us Alternate: Bethany Piper bpiper@state.pa.us	Yes
ТХ	Stephen Stubbs T: (512) 239-3343 F: (512) 239-4760 E: <u>sstubbs@tceq.state.tx.us</u>	Yes
	Alternate: Steve Gibson jgibson@tceq.state.tx.us	
UT	David Mendenhall T: (801) 584-8470 F: (801) 584-8501 E: davidmendenhall@utah.gov Alternate: Kristin Brown kristinbrown@utah.gov	No
VA	Cathy Westerman T: 804-648-4480 ext.391 cathy.westerman@dgs.va.gov Alternate:	Yes

	Program Administrator:	Yes
	Carol Batterton	
	T: 830-990-1029 or 512-924-2102	
	E: carbat@beecreek.net	
EPA	Kevin Kubik	Yes
Liaison	T: 732-321-4377	
	E: <u>kubik.kevin@epa.gov</u>	
	Evaluation Coordinator:	Yes
	Lynn Bradley	
	T: 202-565-2575	
	E: Bradley.lynn@epa.gov	
	Quality Assurance Officer	Yes
	Paul Ellingson	
	T: 801-201-8166	
	E: altasnow@gmail.com	
	Minnesota	Yes
	Susan Wyatt	
	Lynn Boysen	
	Oklahoma	Yes
	David Caldwell	
	Judy Duncan	
	David Caldwell	Yes